5 (Easy) Steps to Live With a Pure Heart

It’s been an exhausting weekend. I felt like mama bear taking care of flu ridden Matt from Thursday night up until yesterday. Thankfully, he felt like getting out and going for a walk today so we walked his parents neighborhood and had dinner over there. Upon heading over there to walk I realized how emotionally and physically exhausted I really was from looking after him the past few days and from just worrying over his headaches. I love to give..I’m a giver. But sometimes I forget that I need to take time for myself..because if not I become extremely tired which starts a snowball affect of irritability/sassyness and just heightened emotions. Seriously, I will cry for no reason when I am extremely tired..like I was today. It gets ugly.

But please tell me you laughed and said “seriously?” upon reading that blog title. Because it’s a joke. Easy? Puuuuhhhlllease..

I love a good sermon at church when it’s just so uplifting, talking about God’s love, His promises, etc. You walk out of church feeling refreshed, excited, ready to take on the day and week!! Much like these Minions.

Then you have services like today..when the topic is how to live with a pure heart. And you realize, you probably have as pure of a heart as Lord Voldemort.

So, let me share just a few of the ways to live with a pure heart. And I’m just going to tell you right now, this blog is NOT going to make you feel warm and fuzzy inside. BUT,  it may help you to reevaluate how you live your life and change some things!! 🙂

Don’t Gossip

I think we have all fallen into the evil that is gossip. With coworkers, friends, family members. Maybe you say “Oh, I don’t spread words about people – but on occasion people come to me..but honestly, I don’t spread that!” Sorry, still gossip. Don’t turn your ears into trash bins that listen to tons of junk!!

Be Sincere

Maybe for you this means, being kind to others to show God’s love. Maybe this means being sincere in your words. So many possibilities.

Pay Your Debts

Borrow money/things from others – repay them! Hey, it’s tax season. Have you falsified part of your tax information to get money back/not pay any money back/not pay as much money back? I know the government shouldn’t get our money but we need to be honest in that and pay back what we owe – honestly. How about those Belks/Kohls/American Express Credit Cards….I’m just sayin’…

Tithe

Alright, I’m not going to harp on this one (10% of your income, etc.) Let me just leave you with one verse. Malachi 3:8 “Will a man rob God? Yet you are robbing Me! But you say, ‘How have we robbed You?’ In tithes and offerings.”

Keep Your Promises

I think this one goes back to being sincere. Someone asks you to do something for them/with them – don’t go back on your word!!

I literally gave the simple and down to the point version of our sermon this morning. I’ve realized that I need work in ALL of these areas – some of which I’ve pinned as what I want to work on going into the new year. I want to one day see God. I want to grow closer to him through a pure heart.

Matthew 5: 8 “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.” 

XOXO Britt

Leave a Reply

