Weekend Roundup – DIY Welcome Sign

Ya’ll…THAT SUPERBOWL COMEBACK!! Wowzas. Biggest comeback in Superbowl history, first Superbowl to EVER go into overtime. What a game. I went to bed feeling satisfied to say the least 🙂

And my Tummy was very satisfied. I got plenty of compliments on my vanilla cupcakes with strawberry compote and homemade buttercream icing. C’mon, aren’t you drooling?!

IMG_1402.JPG

So, other than all the baking and Superbowl things that were going on this weekend..I got a little crafty :). I cannot help but feel obligated to keep Matt’s house somewhat decorated. So, I have made/gotten him things to hang on his door. It was all but time to take down the Christmas sign I made for him…

IMG_1180.JPG

So, although Winter is quickly coming to an end, I made him this welcome sign that can be used for the remainder of winter!

img_1399

I have come to really enjoy making these wooden signs! They are so easy, and turn out looking so so good!!

I already had the paints, so I bought the wood and stained it to be a little darker where I distressed it.

img_1390

I then rubbed vasoline where I wanted the distressing to happen – I used a q-tip and put it all around the edges, heavier on the corners, and a little on the middle. After putting the vasoline on the wood, I painted over it in black. Then, after the black paint dried, I sanded where I put the vasoline. This took the paint right off and left it looking distressed. Next (because free draw is not my thing) I printed the letters out in my chosen font and cut them out.

img_1395

I traced the letters so I could paint them in white.

img_1396

I then painted the snowman face on.

img_1397

The last touches were the snowflakes. I did free hand these via watching a tutorial video on how to draw them on Youtube! It was a struggle but I think they turned out okay!!

img_1399

This is just a reminder that even the most uncrafty people, can be crafty indeed!!

img_1403-1

Happy Monday – Here’s to a great rest of the week 🙂

Leave a Reply

