When Plans Change

I have always been the independent type. I enjoyed college and hoped to find a job and an apt/place to live back home. I was then talked into moving home for a year to save money..fast forward going on 3 years now, I am still here. Unfortunately on a elementary teacher salary already paying student loans, car payments, car insurance, and phone bills..there is no room for an apartment or house. And, having the values I do, I don’t plan on moving in with my boyfriend until he puts a ring on it..and by ring I mean a wedding band. With that said, one word comes to mind..

Frustration.

Days like today, I find myself ranting to my boyfriend (who bless is soul is a wonderful listener), wallowing in self pity, and angry crying in the bathtub. I have trouble crying during actual sad times, but get me tired enough and frustrated enough and I will angry cry. Its not pretty.

So, I pulled myself together (got out of the bathtub), and decided to do some research on what the bible tells us about frustration. Let me share some findings I happened to stumble upon:

  • Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him,and he will make straight your paths.”
  • John 16:33 “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”
  • Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
  • Romans 8:28 “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

The verse that caught me the most was John 16:33. “..but take heart, I have overcome the world.” I’m over here wallowing in self pity over the fact that I have a warm place to sleep, money to buy food, clothing, etc. I have parents who love me. A car that gets me from one place to another. Yet, I’m unhappy over the fact that I don’t like where I live & who I live with. I don’t have the freedoms I would have on my own. I’d hate to see what I would be like if I had to give up my only child to save a world full of ungrateful people like myself. Jesus was frustrated, he was angry, and in the end he wanted the burden of the world taken from him (Luke 22). But God had Him go through with it, and Jesus did so, without a 2nd thought.

The prayer I have for myself is for God to take the frustration from my heart that I may be thankful for what I have. But, when it is not easily taken away, I pray that I will take my frustrations to him, that I may see the good in him, and see the good in my circumstances.

2 thoughts on “When Plans Change

  1. Hey! Just came across this post. I can relate in so many ways and have the same frustrations you have. I find that constant prayer helps relieve some of these negative feelings. I think that if we both continue to work hard and make progress, our lives will sort themselves out in time. Thank you for your encouraging post. We must always trust God!

    Like

    1. I’m glad you came across my post! Constant prayer is so vital in circumstances like this. I agree – it’s all in God’s time and for right now I need to be content with where I am and praise God for being the God that he is and the God who does things in his own time. Good luck to you and thanks for the comment!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

