Having a Humble Heart

“All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty right hand, so that he may lift you up in due time.” – 1st Peter 5:5-6

Today we live in a world where you are judged by your possessions. Everyone wants the next best thing. You need to have the best new iPhone, clothes, cars, houses, makeup. Things that make you look and seem better than those around you. Maybe you don’t see it as that way because when you are investing in these items, you think of all the ways that they can help you, or why you need them. And sometimes you do need them. BUT, I know I would be lying (and maybe you would be to), if I said that I never looked down on people that didn’t have those things, that couldn’t afford them, etc. It’s just something that sometimes runs through your mind so quickly that you don’t even stand a chance of stopping it.

God calls us to put ourselves below all others. To be humble and show humility. In the bible, not all of the stories are about strong, noble, rich fighters who are kings and queens, win battles, etc. Moses was a shephard. Gideon was weak. David was young and very very small. These people weren’t what society would pin as “poster child” God fearing warriors. But, God used them in mighty ways to His glory!

“..God selected the world’s foolish to bring shame upon those who THINK they are wise; likewise, He selected the world’s weak to bring disgrace upon those who THINK they are strong. God selected the common and the castoff, whatever lacks status, so that He could invalidate the claims of those who think those things are significant. So, it makes no sense for any person to boast in God’s presence.” – 1 Corinthians 1:26-29

“…God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble…” – 1 Peter 5:5

One of the most humble acts in the entire bible was by Jesus himself. In reading Philippians 2:1-11 we are told to have the same mindset as Jesus himself. He made himself nothing!! He humbled himself by becoming obedient  to death on a cross. And in the end, God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that it above every name!!!

Cut and dry, we read that when Jesus humbled himself, he was rewarded. We can be rewarded by doing the same.

“Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God so that he may exalt you in due time.” – 1 peter 5:6

Now, does this mean that if I become extremely humble right now, I will be rewarded right now? Absolutely not! In the not so fine print, you will see the words “in due time”. God will not exalt us until we are ready! We may have to walk through the messiness of life before we are ready for God to lavish His great favor upon us.

I have an older sister (3 years older) who also decided early on she wanted to be a teacher (high school math). She was the smarter sister between the two of us, the one who always had a job, had a teaching job lined up straight out of college, etc. All in all, my parents were always proud of her and her accomplishments. Fast forward to now, she taught for 5 years and decided to give it up because she didn’t like it. Her boyfriend moved in with her during her last years teaching there (which is not very respected in my household). Now they have moved to Raleigh together where they are both students (NCSU) – she’s going back for a degree in engineering, he’s changed majors and is trying to finish his degree. So, the pride of my parents has shifted to me. There are times now where I hear my mom or dad on the phone or talking to each other about my sister and her finances and I just feel proud and better than her that I’m actually making a living for myself; I have money to do things, I’m not scrounging around trying to just make it like her and her boyfriend are. I’m able to pay my bills with a little extra left each month. After reading these verses and talking to and listening to God, I’ve been challenged to seek a humble heart. One that views others above myself.

I hope you’ve been challenged to do the same.

With Love,

Britt

 

Leave a Reply

