The struggle of being God-Fearing

“Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” – Proverbs 31:30

Every woman who has ever been in church knows this passage & maybe even aspires to be the Proverbs 31 woman. That is me also. But if you are anything like me, you feel like you are always falling short in some aspect of who this woman is and how she lives her life. Instead of focusing on all 31 passages that talks about her – lets focus on one – and probably the most important one.

You can turn on the TV and 9 times out of 10 you will catch a commercial on the latest beauty product that will make you look 10 years younger in 10 minutes, the latest weight loss product that will help you lose 50 pounds in 2 months, etc. Society leads us to believe that if we do these things we will be truly beautiful, that other people will see us as beautiful, and that we will be praised for our beauty. I’m here to say that if these things work as they say people just might praise you for your beautiful skin and your weight. BUT is this what beauty truly is? Are these the people that we want judging us on our beauty and defining the meaning of beauty? Seeking this outward beauty to boost our self esteem and to receive the praises of others can turn us into an inauthentic person.

When reading Proverbs 31:30, you can learn 2 things:

  1. The ineffectiveness of pursuing and focusing on outward beauty.
  2. What we need to do to be truly appreciated. (BE GOD-FEARING)

So with all of that said, let me pose a question. What does it mean to be God-Fearing? Of all the times I have read this verse, I just kind of skimmed over those words thinking God fearing just meant being afraid of God. Makes since right? That would mean that if I am afraid of God, scared of him, I will be praised and appreciated. Makes since right? NO! That does not. After reading a little deeper and going back to a different verse, I think I’ve finally figured out what it means to be truly God-Fearing.

“Fear of the Lord teaches Wisdom..” -Proverbs 15:33a

Fearing the Lord does not mean to be scared of him, but to stand in awe of him, to adore and respect him, putting him first in our hearts and lives. God’s role in creating the world and everything in it and saving us from a life of damnation establishes him as the one who should be #1 in our hearts.

I wish that I could sit here and tell everyone reading this that I always put God first. I wish I could say that I put God first most of the time. But that is a HUGE struggle of mine. I have tons of fears that I keep bottled up and don’t share with anyone – definitely not God. I feel like if I can’t do anything about it, he probably can’t either. I value my sleep more than I value having my quiet time in the morning before work. There are so many times when God gets put on the back burner of my life. By saying all of that, it doesn’t seem that I truly fear God. He isn’t always #1 in my life. But, that is something I am working on. That is part of the reason I have started this blog – to hold myself accountable.

Now, back to the Proverbs 31 woman. Because she feared God, she was honored by her family. She laughed without fear of the future because when you truly fear God we have no other fears. Don’t you want to laugh in the face of the things of this world that we are supposed to fear?! Death, financial problems, being unemployed, bullies, etc. Truly fearing God means letting go of these fears and giving them up to him. Because isn’t this part of respecting God: trusting him to help us and carry us through the toughest times?

After studying this verse today, I want to be more like the God-Fearing woman talked about in Proverbs 31 (emphasis on God-Fearing). I want to be like her not only for myself, but for my future husband and children. Some steps I plan on taking in that direction include:

  • Surrendering my plans to him and putting him first.
  • Reading the bible and memorizing key verses.
  • Praying, but also listening.

I pray that I will be more God-Fearing: that I will trust in him more to help me through my struggles, that I will focus less on what society names as beautiful and more on what God sees as beautiful, and that my fear of him will alleviate my fears of this world.

Until next time,

Britt

 

 

Leave a Reply

